Pierre Teilhard de Chardin: Mystic and Visionary.

IAN G GRAHAM

by Ian G Graham

tellihard Teilhard de Chardin (1881-1955) was a Jesuit priest, philosopher and palaeontologist who insisted upon the positive value of the material world and the human body and senses. He claimed the physical cosmos and the human body are no barrier or blockage to the mystical union. For him these are vehicles of transcendence that transport us to an experience of God. In Writings in Time of War, Teilhard reports the following experience…

I felt my body, my soul, and even my spirit pass into the ethereal tint, unreal in its freshness, that caressed my eyes. Serene and iridescent, its colour bathed more than my senses; it in some way impregnated my affections and thoughts. I melted away in it, lost in strange yearning to attain some individuality vaster and simpler than mine – as though I had become pure light.

And, under the glance that fell upon…

View original post 905 more words

Leave a Reply

